Future Tense Fiction: Stories of Tomorrow
Future Tense Fiction: Stories of Tomorrow

Charlie Jane Anders

Madeline Ashby

Paolo Bacigalupi

Meg Elison

Lee Konstantinou

Carmen Maria Machado

Maureen F. McHugh

Annalee Newitz

Deji Bryce Olukotun

Mark Oshiro

Hannu Rajaniemi

Emily St. John Mandel

Mark Stasenko

Nnedi Okorafor

The Editors of Future Tense

Future Tense Fiction is a collection of electrifying original stories from a veritable who’s-who of authors working in speculative literature and science fiction today. Featuring Carmen Maria Machado, Emily St. John Mandel, Charlie Jane Anders, Nnedi Okorafor, Paolo Bacigalupi, Madeline Ashby, Mark Oshiro, Meg Elison, Maureen F. McHugh, Deji Bryce Olukotun, Hannu Rajaniemi, Annalee Newitz, Lee Konstantinou, and Mark Stasenko―Future Tense Fiction points the way forward to the fiction of tomorrow. A disease surveillance robot whose social programming gets put to the test. A future in which everyone receives universal basic income―but it’s still not enough. A futuristic sport, in which all the athletes have been chemically and physically enhanced. An A.I. company that manufactures a neural bridge allowing ordinary people to share their memories. Brimming with excitement and exploring new ideas, the stories collected by the editors of Slate’s Future Tense are philosophically ambitious and haunting in their creativity. At times terrifying and heart-wrenching, hilarious and optimistic, this is a collection that ushers in a new age for our world and for the short story. A partnership of Slate, New America, and Arizona State University, Future Tense explores how emerging technologies will change the way we live, in reality and fiction. Future Tense Fiction is a collection of original fiction commissioned by the partnership.


Company, Inc.

© 2024 Bindery Books, Inc.